14 States Will Increase Minimum Wage Starting New Year’s Day 2016

Previous Article
Next Article

14 States Raise Minimum Wage for 2016 – Happy New Year to those people who will wake up to an increase in pay on New Year’s Day.

According to an analysis of state laws by Yannet Lathrop of the National Employment Law Project, the fourteen states listed below will raise pay from a nickel an hour in South Dakota to a full dollar in California and Massachusetts. [Scroll down to the list]



LIST OF 14 STATES THAT WILL RAISE MINIMUM WAGE

Alaska: $8.75 to $9.75
Arkansas: $7.50 to $8.00
California: $9.00 to $10.00
Colorado: $8.23 to $8.31
Connecticut: $9.15 to $9.60
Hawaii: $7.75 to $8.50
Massachusetts: $9.00 to $10.00
Michigan: $8.15 to $8.50
Nebraska: $8.00 to $9.00
New York: $8.75 to $9.00
Rhode Island: $9.00 to $9.60
South Dakota: $8.50 to $8.55
Vermont: $9.15 to $9.60
West Virginia: $8.00 to $8.75

Huffington Post reports that the minimum wage will be raised even higher in New York for fast food workers — to $10.50 in New York City, and $9.75 in the rest of the state, thanks to a move by the state’s wage board. The District of Columbia and three states — Maryland, Minnesota and Nevada — will be raising their wage floors later in 2016.

Watch How many hours you will have to work to live off minimum wage.

Please follow and like us:
Previous Article
Next Article

Looking for CHOCOLATE...

Advertisement

Comments

comments

READ  Lottery Winner Marie Holmes Continues Bailing Out Boyfriend, But Whose Business Is It?

DON'T MISS THIS...

Advertisement

Please spread the word

Read more:
Black Women Fighting the Seduction of American Patriarchy Without Saying So

It’s almost cliché to say now, but fighting patriarchy without stating that you’re fighting patriarchy—or even knowing that you are—is...

Close